Trademark Resources

China Trademark Office

Since the establishment of the People's Republic of China, the nationwide trademark registration was responsible for the Central Bureau for Private Enterprises and the Central Administration for Industry and Commerce successively. According to the Trademark Law of the People's Republic of China promulgated in 1982, and amended twice in 1993 and 2001, Trademark Office is in charge of the trademark registration and administration throughout the country. With the resumption of State Administration for Industry and Commerce (SAIC) in 1978, Trademark Office was founded directly under SAIC, local Administrations for Industry and Commerce (AICs) is responsible for monitoring the use of trademarks and coping with infringements of the exclusive right to use a trademark ex officio or at the request of right-holders, with a view to protect the legitimate rights and interests of the right-holders and consumers.

Trademark Office includes 24 divisions, namely, General Affairs Division, Application Acceptance Division, Examination Division I, Examination Division II, Examination Division III, Examination Division IV, Examination Division V, Examination Division VI, Examination Division VII, Examination Division VIII, Geographical Indication Examination Division, International Registration Division, Opposition Formality Check Division, Opposition Division I, Opposition Division II ,Opposition Division III and Opposition Division IV ,Trademark Information and Archives Management Division, Trademark Modification and Renewal Division, Legal Affairs Division, Trademark Supervision and Administration Division, Trademark Examination Quality Control Division ,Computer Management Division and Branch office in Zhongguancun Independent Innovation Model Park. with the quota of 285, including 1 Director General, 4 Deputy Director Generals.